JA Guam Elects New Board of Directors for 2020-2021

JA Guam Board Officers 2020-2021 (L-R): Secretary Atty. Andrew Perez, Vice Chairperson Erlinda Alegre, Treasurer Lee Vensel, and Board Chairperson Joey Miranda III.

Story by Lagrimas “Pinki” Lujan, JA Guam Executive Director

Junior Achievement (JA) Guam held their board elections during their annual meeting last month on July 22,, 2020.

Joey Miranda III of JCM3 Corporation was unanimously elected as new Board Chairman.  He states: “A special thank you is in order for our immediate past Board Chairperson Meg Tyquiengco and outgoing Executive Director Beth Lizama for the leadership they provided to JA Guam over the past decade.  Their dedication and commitment have brought JA Guam to new heights which has provided many opportunities for our students to excel in life.  Their mentorship and foresight have provided me the privilege and opportunity to work alongside my colleagues as we prepare for the next decade.”

Miranda states: “I would like to thank my fellow board members for their trust and continued dedication towards meeting our goals for the coming year.  We will work diligently to ensure our programs surpass the standards of the new norm which include protecting our most precious assets- our students, mentors and stakeholders.” 

Miranda joins Erlinda Alegre, Bank of Hawaii, as Board Vice Chairperson, Atty. Andrew Perez from the AG’s Office, as Board Secretary, and Lee Vensel, Deloitte & Touche, as Treasurer. Meg Tyquiengco remains as Past Board Chair.

We would like to acknowledge the rest of our board members: Lesley Leon Guerrero, Bank of Guam, as Fundraising Chairperson; Kristine Lujan, Triple J Enterprises, as PR/Marketing Chairperson, Sharon Davis, GTA, Programs co-chair; Jason Katigbak, IP&E, Finance co-chair; Jane Ray, SBDC Guam, Fundraising co-chair; and last but not least: Joanna Ulatan, PayLess Supermarkets, as PR/Marketing co-chair.

Board Chairman, Joey Miranda III, goes further to say  “As the host organization of the JA Asia Pacific Company of the Year 2020 competition, I would like to extend my sincere gratitude to JA Asia Pacific for the opportunity extended to us as well as the continued assistance in ensuring our hardworking students were provided this virtual opportunity to showcase their talent and skills.  Finally, to the members of our organizing committee, I look forward to our continued collaboration in ensuring the success of this event.  Happy 45th Anniversary JA GUAM.”

JAG Executive Board Officers 2020-2021 (L-R): Secretary Atty. Andrew Perez, Treasurer Lee Vensel, outgoing Executive Director Beth Lizama, Board Vice Chairperson Erlinda Alegre and Board Chairperson Joey Miranda III. (Not pictured incoming Executive Director Pinki Lujan.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: