Students vie for JA Guam Company of the Year

Saturday, January 28, 2023 – Micronesia Mall, Dededo, Guam

Ten (10) student companies participated in the Junior Achievement Guam Company Program which kicked off in September at the Guam Community College campus.  These budding entrepreneurs were mentored by businesses who partnered with JA Guam to facilitate the sixteen-week program.  Students learned the values of entrepreneurship, financial literacy, and work readiness.  The task at hand for the mentors were to prepare the students for the company of the year competition which took place on Saturday, January 28, 2023 at the Micronesia Mall Center court.

The event began with an opening ceremony as JA Guam Executive Director Pinki Lujan and Board Chairman Joey Miranda III provided insights and details pertaining to the competition.  The ceremony was highlighted by a check presentation from SBDC’s Jane Kwok to JA Guam.

Eight judges from various business entities on island evaluated the students annual report, commercial, financial statement, and on-stage presentation.  The students shared their experiences with the judges through interviews that lasted two hours, provided insights on their company’s product and business acumen.

The judging panel for the 2022-2023 competition include Charlie Hermosa, Founder of Bella Wings Aviation LLC and General Manager of American President Lines; Alissa Eclavea Topasna, Found of StitchCraft Guam and Rikohi Guam; Siska Hutapea, Founder/President of Cornerstone Valuation Guam, Inc; Gener Deliquina, Chief Executive Officer of Coast360 Federal Credit Union; Mycale Mugol, Entrepreneur and Senior Partner for If Anything Productions and Tao Pacific Designs; Jason Katigbak, Chief Financial Officer of Cidatel Inc.; along with a pair of Senators from the 34th and 35th Guam Legislature Regine Biscoe-Lee, Principal of RBL & Associates; and Louise Borja, Chief People Officer at Payless Supermarkets.  After the day long activities, the judges collaborated to determine the awardees for the year which will be presented on Sunday, January 29, 2023 at the Dusit Thani Resort Guam.

The participating teams and their sponsors include:

  • Untold sponsored by Bank of Hawaii
  • Laguna Fortuna sponsored by Cabras Marine Guam
  • Mo’na sponsored by Community First Federal Credit Union
  • Hasso’ sponsored by Dusit Thani Guam
  • Kosta sponsored by Graphic Center
  • Maila’ Ta Fan Dana sponsored by GTA
  • Gineggue from Southern High School GCC DECA program
  • Fu’una from Tiyan High School GCC DECA program
  • Persona sponsored by Title Guaranty of Guam
  • FIDE Association sponsored by Triple J Enterprise from Father Duenas Memorial School

Images from the JA Guam Company of the Year competition at the Micronesia Mall Center Court:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: